Tales from the Rody
What happens when elephants learn they can’t fly.

Limo Drivers vs. Cab Drivers

airports2First off, you all know the jobs are like night and day. The Limo driver generally has a fixxed assignment – that is someone whom they are charged with driving around – point-to-point or as an ‘on-call’ service. I guess the limo job might be nice enough but so far I have not wanted to work as a ‘ limo driver’ per sae – that is, maybe I look at it more like  a servant .. hanging around waiting outside a night spot while my charge is drinking martinis and talking trash — then when ready, they stumble out and there I would be, standing at the ready, ready for my next command. My thoughts go back to when I had to ride in a limo (never was totally comfortable in that position and often offset my uneasyness by sitting in the front seat with the driver – somehow I felt better up there and less like some big shot in the back , talking on the phone.) Safer? YES!  More money? So Im told. We hear stories of limo drivers getting big day rates ($500) and tips up the wazoo but again its a limo and not a cab. Limo companies will want you to look nice, I often see them with suits on and well, they report to someone to make sure thats the case. Maybe thats it – my attitude that mkes me unemployable shows here.

movie_haircuts_11Meanwhile, the taxi provides MUCH less security – in the taxi world, you get your cab and you’re on your own. You can use the radio or hang — you can even cruise an area. Although prob scary to most is the fact that you never know what’s coming next. If you sit at a taxi stand, you have no idea of who is going to tap on the glass or open the door. They may be nice, not-so-nice, sober or not so much. I happen to like that ~~ reminds me of the days of driving in NYC when you can end up anywhere at anytime.

The choice is yours – both positions have additional benefits- cash economy, personal freedom, all that stuff. WHICH, IF GIVEN THE CHOICE WOULD YOU PICK?  Let us hear from you.

5 Responses to “Limo Drivers vs. Cab Drivers”

  1. This might not be the ideal place to request this, but I’m trying to find Boston Airport Limo Service and have no method to find out where to find the very best. I uncovered this company which is really close to me and wanted to see if any person has any reviews on them. Transportation of New England (http://www.transportationofnewengland.com).
    Please help me with this as my husband and I have been struggling to find a good/reliable Logan Airport Transportation Services.

  2. Howdy! This article couldn’t be written much better! Looking through this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He continually kept talking about this. I most certainly will send this post to him. Pretty sure he will have a great read. Many thanks for sharing!

  3. Today, I went to the beachfront with my kids. I found
    a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to her ear and
    screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is totally off topic but I had to tell someone!

  4. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after reading through some of the post I realized
    it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be
    bookmarking and checking back frequently!

  5. Clients would prefer a limo chauffeur since he’s always well-dressed, well-mannered, knowledgable and experienced. You get what you pay for!


Leave a Reply

