Tales from the Rody
What happens when elephants learn they can’t fly.

The Wired Cab #2

From my Wired Cab series: Goin’ Downtown. If youve spent any time in the bowels of our city, this face should bring back memories. Excuse the cam work.. my first field use of the new jib!!  In Color HD.

11 Responses to “The Wired Cab #2”

  1. Thanks John.

    Good to see you again.Keep it up!

  2. I think it’s great that you have a new career, whatever makes you content, happy.We can always start over and create a new future, just takes balls, to put it bluntly. I just had a job change, and man do I hate change, but now, after a month at the new place, I’ve got it better than before at the old place.Peace brother, you did good…

  3. I think it’s great that you have a new career, whatever makes you content, happy.We can always start over and create a new future, just takes balls, to put it bluntly. I just had a job change, and man do I hate change, but now, after a month at the new place, I’ve got it better than before at the old place.Peace brother, you did good…Scott

  4. John – I cannot imagine that you are not being picked up for a radio show here in Dallas. I think you are a remarkable talent and I am convinced that you would get listener and sponsor support.

    Have you taken a run at the stations recently? I am anxious for you to be back on the air.

  5. I recommend a vintage Zoo sticker on the rear window.

    Best Regards,

    Time

  6. My survival job…
    drove a tow truck for a local Fort Worth company back in
    87, every thing went well made some good money for them
    days… hard hours ,on call almost 24-7…I felt good about
    being the guy that came to help you out on the road side
    when your car dropped dead….All the charm ended for
    me when the company took on a contract to repo for
    some of the local car lots,, Sneek in , snatch and grab
    with out getting shot at, had my windshield smashed a few
    times trying to get away .. Never again,,, Cr

  7. Well, as far as jobs go, I’ve had several. A friend of mine once told me, “you know more about less things than anybody I know”. He was right too, I know a lot, even if it is less. I drive a truck now, have for the last few years, made decent money, not now though, doing more for less would be a good way to put it, but, I only have to do it part time now, so I have to do more for less, even less. I’ve been a machinist, printing press operator, warehouseman, shipping clerk, I even delivered coat hangers for a company in Denton that actually made them, I always wondered where those things came from. Also worked in the oilfield in Farmington, NM, and Rock Spgs,WY. I decided being up for 43 hours straight in Zero degree weather wasn’t that much fun after all. Oh, I was a rural mail carrier in Southern Colorado-Pagosa Spgs for a few years, very nice area to live. They don’t like Texans too much up there though. I worked on an assembly line for 6 months, putting hubs and impellers on water pumps for Napa, that lasted 6 months too long.I had an antique hardware restoration business for a few years, that was actually the most enjoyable thing I’ve done so far. I made all the replacement hardware for the King Ranch Main House Restoration back in the early 90’s while I was in Pagosa. I’m somewhat of a door knob expert, but please don’t ask me to date your knobs. I never had a job yet that I couldn’t quit.

  8. I have installed a few NAPA water pumps , had some problems
    with comebacks… shaft seals drip….
    My house has glass door knobs , they look like big dimonds..
    (1940’s)

    I have a CDL but don’t drive a truck for a living, just fix them..
    I’m 45 and I work for the city of Fort Worth and city council
    is looking to cut my department down to almost nothing and
    deeper cuts are on the way ( No safety in a Gubmunt job anymore)
    Most likley Me and some of my co-workers will be back on the job
    market soon standing in line with the other 9.5%.

  9. Do a few more of these webcasts and you could present this as an idea to one of the local tv channels. In the field reporting is a lost art (remember the 4 country reporter?) . I think the quality of your narrative is good… it reminds me of a tv show (which maybe appeared on comedycentral, I don’t know), where a guy travels to lots of cities and visits the late night spots and the street scenes. I can’t think of the name… but, he was fun to watch (you are just as good in my opinion).

    So, get a few made and then… I think maybe you could get a gig out of this (sort of that late night guy meets the hbo taxicab stories thing).


Leave a Reply

